Short Stories and Chapbooks

I love short stories. I love to read them, and I love to write them. I have a variety of short story collections, anthologies and chapbooks in my personal library. When I don’t have the time to commit to an 80,000+ word novel, it’s nice to be able to read two- to ten-thousand words and reach a satisfying ending.

Although most of the writers and avid readers lurking the dark, musty hallways of the internet are familiar with chapbooks, I’ve recently been asked exactly what one was. A chapbook is a small book containing poems, ballads, stories or religious tracts. They’ve been around since the 16th century. In the 1800’s they became popular as “Dime Novels” in the US and “Penny Dreadfuls” in the UK.

Now that everyone’s familiar with a chapbook, I’ll get to the point of this post.

Three of my short stories are slated to be published in a chapbook by The Penny Dreadful Company, an imprint of Ghostwriter Publications.

It’s provisionally titled The Final Chapter.

  • The title story, “The Final Chapter,” introduces us to a world-renown artist celebrated for his signature grave rubbings of the famous, the unusual and the macabre.
  • “Damn, I Hate Stephen King” is a flash piece about a writer, his wife, their haunted house, a collection of Stephen King books and the things that go bump in the night.
  • “The 72 Ounce Challenge” seats us in the center of an award-winning restaurant boasting a rather bizarre eating contest.

Conceptual cover art is being chiseled away as we speak (or as I write and you read). Stay tuned for a sneak peak very soon.

I’ll be announcing the release date shortly after the cover art is completed.

Check out their website and order a few chapbooks. If you like short stories, you won’t be disappointed.

One Response to “Short Stories and Chapbooks”

  1. Dianne Bragg Says:

    That’s awesome. If these stories are anything like “The Magician,” they’ll be great.

    I can’t wait to get my copy.

    Dianne

Leave a Reply

